Search the forum,

Discuss Where to start? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Crs8

Firstly let me apologies as I know there's a lot of similar questions but everyone's situation is different so would like to start my own 'how' thread.

I'm 25 years old from Maidstone and have been working in print, nothing interesting just a part time job but I want to finally start a course to get into the trade. Always wanted to get into a trade, love fixing things and never really saw myself anywhere else.

I've read that the courses that charge thousands should be avoided and college courses are a good option. I'd like to do night courses at college and aware that it takes some time, but what happens during this time? Will I need to get someone to take me on as an apprentice? At the end of the course do I stand a decent chance of getting a job if I have no working environment experience?

I know it's not going to be easy but it's about time that I sort myself out & take a chance with something.

Cheers

hello Crs8,:welcome:.
to get an NVQ you need to be working with someone.
the best route is to speak to the college/centre you would hope to train at, find out what courses they run and the requirements for them.

hello Crs8,:welcome:.
to get an NVQ you need to be working with someone.
the best route is to speak to the college/centre you would hope to train at, find out what courses they run and the requirements for them.

Hello,

So what would you be doing in the mean time at college if you wasn't working with someone? Would this get me a basic certificate which leads me to level 2? And can I only complete level 2 with work experience?

Where's the level 1? :p I'm looking at the C&G website and it's just levels 2 and 3.

Thanks for your help.

Last edited by a moderator:
some offer level 1, most bypass that and go straight to level 2.
traditional route level 2 C&G 6129 ( just technical cert ) then do the NVQ,