Search the forum,

Discuss Where can you go after plumbing nvq level 2 (self employed)? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

scottplumber

Hi, Ive been plumbing a for a couple of years now not that long and just wanted to no how you go about getting your unvented ticket, core gas & water regs. since finishing my apprenticeship a few years ago and now started up on my own just doing plumbing and hanging rads etc i'd like to have a look into gas although i dont if you can do this unless your employed by a company. i was thinking about offering my services to a gas engineer for a few weeks so i can get the very basics and an understanding of what it involves any help always appreciated.

do a serach

all info has been posted loads of times

experience is a good idea.

you can get all your tickets at an ACS training center they usually do water regs and the like.
if you are working with gas under a qualified engineer with an NVQ2 you could officially do a shorter course but goodluck finding a training company willing to provide it!

Do an NVQ3, which you will need for the future, as things are going that way.

There are changes afoot with funding, so you may get this funded depending on your age.

When you ask at local colleges, they may not know this, because its recent policy change:

http://www.bis.gov.uk/assets/biscor...374-skills-investment-statement-2011-2014.pdf

Scroll down to check tables

e.g.
Students undertaking a first full Level 3 qualification
Adults aged 19 up to 25​
Full Funding
Full Funding up to age 24

Last edited:
but to do the nvq you need to be placed or employed. if your employed youll be on an apprenticeship which is co funded, therefore the employer is expected to pay a contribution, 50% could easily be a few thousand pound or more