Search the forum,

Discuss What System should i put in all the cals are driving me MAD! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

plumman

HI all,
Im new to the site, just to let you no tho, for my sins I have been doing this for 23 years and I am gas safe.
Right my problem, buying a new house next year, it’s a 2 bed cottage with a floor area of about 64 2m, there will be on and of about 2 adults and 3 kids there (one of the out building will be made for live).
Heating?? I have been looking at a heat only boiler (I like the icos ideal) with a log burner and thermal store and if I win the lotto later on add solar,
Question,,,, in summer I will be heating all that water in the store just for hot water, the fire would not be use in summer, so im I just waste money and just go for a combi and have the space? It just on my mind that when I have the fire on I am wasting all that energy, plus I am buying the small wood land behind the cottage that should keep me in wood for 2 years and im good friend with 2 tree surgeons.

Would really appreciate any help cos this research is driving me mad!

Darren

You cannot be a gas safe reg eng and like the ideal icos

Whether your heating thermal store or a standard cylinder
It still has to be heated no matter what plus a direct thermal store will heat quicker than a normal cylinder

Ha HA you sound like the rep a PTS, he hates all to do with Ideal, fitted lots of them, think there far better solid than most, well must be true you can get them for pea nuts now, thats more y i like!

Ha HA you sound like the rep a PTS, he hates all to do with Ideal, fitted lots of them, think there far better solid than most, well must be true you can get them for pea nuts now, thats more y i like!

You may have fitted loads. Have you done much breakdowns or servicing on these. If you don't check the probes it can melt itself