Search the forum,

Discuss Vokera excell80sp query in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys... just a heads up first I've popped over from the electrical Forum where I Mod' for a little advice, yep I know, a Sparky asking a Plumber for advice, must be a sign of the end of the world :O
What my issue is my own boiler has been playing up, I'm a Electrical Engineer by trade and build control systems so actually identifying the problem wasn't a issue, burner flame cutout, refusal to ignite etc etc all traced down to the fan that had slowly but surely bit the dust and seized up, anyway after replacing said part it cured all the problems in one swift swoop but a new issue has risen it ugly head - the flame will only work in low thus I get luke warm water and C/H the same..

My query is what the Modulator voltages should be for High and Low as at present I'm only seeing 12v dc with a low flame.. now the way I see this is it thinks its already at temperature with the onboard stat which both are set to full, I'm aware it should start off high flame but it doesn't so suspect the fault on the pcb... any input would be great and please be kind or I'll set Dan on you :D

PS - I am not interfering with the Gas side and nothing has been changed other than the fan which before its failure the boiler was all working fine.

Last edited:
Sorry to say yes you have, even opening the boiler case you need to be gas safe these days

Fan adjusts how much gas is pulled

Offering you a warm welcome darkwood and hoping somebody will pm you soon to offer a fellow tradesman a trade price deal to fix it for you. ;)
Roughly, where are you in the UK?

Offering you a warm welcome darkwood and hoping somebody will pm you soon to offer a fellow tradesman a trade price deal to fix it for you. ;)
Roughly, where are you in the UK?

West Yorkshire

Why not let the man speak for himself Shaun.