Search the forum,

Discuss Toilet feed pipe leaking at valve in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

loftybloke

Hi All

I'm hoping for some advice please. I noticed a drip from the top of the valve in the pipe which fills the cistern of our toilet.

18739634_10212992974329162_9014247867735732015_n.jpg

I tried to tighten it with a pair of adjustable wrenches but it doesn't seem to matter which way I turn which nut, it still leaks when i open the valve again. I (of course) seem to have made the leak faster by trying to fix it.

Can anyone help please?

TBH when they start leaking best to replace the fill valve (fluid master 45b pro) and a new fibre washer

Snowhead, yes the water comes up from the bit with the screw to open/close the valve below the nut. The nylon bit isn't wet.

Shaun is that easy for a complete novice to do?

Thanks

Are you sure it's the valve and that it's not leaking down the nylon thread from the cistern?

If it is the valve, there's a fibre washer betwen the valve and nylon fill valve.
Isolate and replace it.

same as;
Fibre washers 1/2 to fit 15mm tap connector per 10

Be carefull screwing the nut back onto the valve, it's easy to cross thread it.
Thanks. Forgive me for being ignorant, but the water is coming from below the top nut of the valve rather than where it meets the nylon thread. Would your solution stop this too?

Snowhead, yes the water comes up from the bit with the screw to open/close the valve below the nut. The nylon bit isn't wet
Thanks
If you mean that smaller sized pipe just under the top nut then it is time to start again with a complete new valve. At this moment in time you don't need a new fill valve.

No that one is different at one end, trying to find a link for you, back in a moment.

Much appreciated, thanks. There is a B & Q near to us thats still open if that helps