Discuss Thermecon s90/120 lockout fault in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
O

Oddbod

Hi,

I'm not a heating engineer and I have no intention of touching our boiler, but I really could do with some friendly advice regarding a weird fault.

The boiler is an 8-year old ThermeconS90/120. Burner is an Ecoflam Minor 4. Nozzle is a 1.10/60 Location is a dry outhouse.

When cold the boiler will fire with a flame established, but almost immediately locks out. Press the lockout button and the boiler fires and behaves normally. The fault only seems to occur when firing from cold. Any residual heat and things work fine.

What follows is the history. I'm not being critical of any of the engineers actions – the detail is just there 'cos I don't know what matters and what doesn’t.

The boiler was working perfectly until it was serviced. The nozzle was replaced however the port normally used for the air supply probe could not be used as something was “spinning around” (I assume the plug screw or connector thread stripped?). The engineer drilled a hole in the flue but then found he didn't have the right sensor equipment so didn't set up the air supply. There was no black smoke from the flue so it was deemed OK. He didn’t seal the hole in the flue.
Following the service there was a tiny continual oil leak from a connection - a drip an hour kind of thing.

After a week the fault started to occur and the engineer came back, cleaned the nozzle (it being sooted up) and set the combustion mixture using the hole in the flue for the sensor. It took a long time and the air setting ended up much higher than the manufacturers suggested range (and much higher from what it was when the boiler was working before the service)

It worked fine for a week and then the fault started to reoccur. The engineer stopped taking my calls.

I found a second engineer – really nice bloke, well recommended and clearly knew oil boilers.