Search the forum,

Discuss Thermal Store in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Stuartb

Hi,

I'm fairly new to this world and am buying an old farmhouse on which I want to put some renewable energy sources.

Initially I am just going to have solar PV on the roof and a wood fired backboiler in the lounge in addition to a standard gas boiler (Potterton - non combi). Having had a bit of a look around I am thinking that I would like some kind of thermal store to initially provide hot water using a combination of the above inputs (solar PV via immersun) and maybe ultimately to provide hot water for radiators too.

Any advice as to whether this would be appropriate and what sort of thermal store would be best or what a better solution would be?

Thanks

Stuart

A big Welcome Stuart to this plumbing forum.
I would concentrate on fantastic insulation and air tightness, also your plans for an "A rated" Condensing system boiler is a wise move, to widen your options for future renewable inputs into your DHW cylinder store.
Are you going to replace the current ground floor ? If so that could be your biggest thermal store over just for hot water, as space heating costs are a greater part of heating.
My first step as a thermal store, would be to consider insulating the whole floor slab as a giant heat store. On top of 100mm of Kingspan , I would have an underfloor piped heating matrix. I would heat each alternate circuit by various heat sources from the end of summer through to March. The thermal store would use all the cheapest renewable sources as possible, even if I could not afford them all from the outset at least the pipe/duct matrix. I slipped in ductwork there as a friend of mine has done this successfully for passive cooling in the summer, cheaper than air con & saving heat in to the store.
The other Heat inputs could be supplied from solar, wood, Ground source Heat pump, etc. etc.