Search the forum,

Discuss Struggling with my mynute 14se in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Cheggers33

Has been dripping from the relief valve onto the wall outside and becoming a problem (damp, dripping on wooden window sill etc)

I have pressurised to roughly 2bar but it continues to stay above 2bar and at times, nearly 3! Am assuming I'm being an idiot and have the refill tap on constantly rather than off but can't seem to make a difference in the pressure either way..... and am a little apprehensive given I'm no boiler expert.

Tap is currently all the way to the left in the pic attached. Any advice?

IMG_20170516_121232.jpg

Best bet is to call a gas safe engy out as the relief valve and another part checked

Most systems should be pressurised to between 1 and 1.5 when cold and will rise to 2 bar when hot. Have you checked the user instructions for your boiler to make sure you are setting the right pressure?

If this is your boiler:

http://cdn0.vokera.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/mynute_10se_14se_20se_users_instructions.pdf

Then refer to §3.1, and set the system pressure to between 1 and 1.5bar when cold.

Once pressurised, the taps at the ends of the filling loop should both be off and the flexible hose disconnected.

Last edited:
The horizontal position of the black turn handle in your pic shows that the filler valve is in the open position, It needs to be vertical to turn it off. And the silver braided hose attached to it should be disconected once you have topped up the pressur to 1bar. If you still have a problem after the pressure is reduced to 1bar and the hose is disconected then it is time to call in an GSR engineer.

Removing the hose, as above will be the final test of whether the fill valve is closed..

Thanks all for the responses. So there are now 2 questions here (as I'm a total novice and do not want to be disconnecting anything wherever possible):