Search the forum,

Discuss Stiff shower valve - how to proceed? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennie

Gas Engineer
Hi all,

My customer has a Mira Gem 88 mixer shower. It's 12 years old, and has recently become tight to turn (most likely scaled up). It runs from a combi boiler, and has isolation valves on the pipework.

How best to proceed? (I'm new to shower repairs).

I suppose my options are:

1-Take it apart and soak the cartridge overnight in white vinegar, and see if that frees it up
2- Replace the cartridge (costs about £90 for the cartridge)
3- Replace the entire mixer shower (about £181)

I'd be interested to hear your thoughts,

Cheers,

Jennie

I think it's a plastic cartridge. So impossible to clean.

I would just replace the cartridge.

strip down and re grease and new cartridge

As townfanjon suggests replace. You could try calling Mira and seeing how much a fixed price repair will be. Ive found they can often do the repair cheaper than i can buy the bits for. Their number is 01242 262888

National shower spares. Not too bad for price. Quick delivery. Don't know what your merchants would charge

Cartridge replacement is best option ! but depends what customer wants to spend !!

Whilst it's occasionally possible to descale a cartridge the cost involved should it not work is difficult to justify as it's not guaranteed. By far and away the best option is to buy a replacement cartridge. Just make sure it's a real Mira and not a fake and be sure to properly clean up around the entry ports.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Stiff shower valve - how to proceed? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics