Search the forum,

Discuss speedfit fittings in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

whyme!

I am having building work done at the moment. The person doing the plumbing is using speedfit connections for water and heating below floorboards, and connecting from old copper with a type of plastic pipe that connects via the speedfits. Is this normal these days, or should he be using copper below floors?
He has also put a connection(compression) joint below a block and beam ground floor.
None of this seems right to me.

Im very new to plumbing and am only self taught so my advice is only from my own experience. Speed fit is as it says and it makes the job much quicker it is designed for heating aswell as domestic water i use both copper and speedfit it all depends on the job at hand. as long as he is using the pipe inserts which stiffen the ends of the plastic and also create a secondary seal then you should have no problems.
John Guest - The World Leader in Push-in Fittings, Pipe and Plastic Plumbing Systems
this should put your mind at ease.

Good luck..
Mat

Sometimes we have to mix and match as the exsisting plumbing and building can dictate how a job is done. Plastic is OK , I would always recommend pressure testing the system prior to filling just in case.