Search the forum,

Discuss Solar thermal flow meter blocked in the Renewables area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, Solar thermal not so big these days but a couple of Q for anyone who still works in it.

Background. I'm an Electrician not a plumber.. I've been maintaining my otherwise excellent solar thermal (Original install MCS by Others), for the last ~ 18 years, over which time I've needed to clean and flush it, re-fill it, replace expansion vessel and pump, and more recently re-flush it due to "blockages" (more on this below). My drill pump lash-up does a perfectly adequate job of getting 2 bar into the system without air, and I'm familiar enough that I can set-up, and re-pressurise in half an hour.

I last flushed properly with solar cleaner in 2014 and am running Fenox Solar S1

The "blockage" today occurred also last summer after the extremely hot spell following heavy periods of stagnation. Last time it went away after pumping it through but not this time.

The pump is fine, the glass window flow meter appears to pass ~ zero fluid where I expect to see ~ 5L/min. The disk will not lift. I was hoping the flow was there regardless of the disk, but with pump settings all as before, the temperatures in the system indicate not much is getting through (Resol brand VM1020 which has integral fill/drain cock). The stuck disk then does seem to be impeding flow.
Flows during a fill-pumping (while bypassing the flow meter) through the panels and through the solar heat exchanger are fine. I just did that this morning, it's flushing through fast and no air.

My Questions:
Resol VM1020 flow rate meter https://www.resol.de/Produktdokumente/11200176_VM1020.daten.pdf I have not removed it yet. The lifting disk is purely mechanical, what's the reasonable chance of getting it cleaned out properly and working? Any advice about clearing crud or other when I remove it? (solvents, mechanical cleaning?)