Search the forum,

Discuss Solar help. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

maca

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, I am currently updating a bathroom for a customer, she failed to tell me she has solar tank in the loft.

so my situation & question is this,

we are replacing the bath with a walk in shower, once the pipes for the bath were exposed, the hot water branched off via a 'T' , it ran up a boxed in soil pipe & vent to the loft, and upon inspection that's were I saw the pipe hitting a port valve in the solar tank.

I've never worked on solar before so I have no idea what this pipe is for, is it feeding the bath or is the hot water feeding the tank ?

The shower going in is an electric cold feed only, so would I need to connect this solar hot water pipe to the basin hot water pipe instead?

any help or advice is greatly appreciated.
thanks

without any photos i can only suggest but the solar pipes should be in there own sealed system connecting to the bottom of the cylinder, they shouldnt branch off to feed any appliances as the water in the solar can reach over 100 degrees C.

without any photos i can only suggest but the solar pipes should be in there own sealed system connecting to the bottom of the cylinder, they shouldnt branch off to feed any appliances as the water in the solar can reach over 100 degrees C.

Cheers, that's what I thought, its a strange one, but I'm not gonna change/mess with something I don't understand, so ill just reconnect the pipe to the hot water pipe for the basin.

It looks like the solar is not feeding the bath, more the other way round, as it enters the cylinder 3/4 of the way up not at the bottom.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Solar help. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics