Search the forum,

Discuss Snake Oil Salesmen? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

CES

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Just been browsing fleabay and came across this

AIR SOURCE HEAT PUMP OIL GAS BOILER REPLACEMENT 11.9KW | eBay UK

Now I'm not an expert on these but to claim 600% efficiency opened my eyes, until I read the outside temp at this COP is 43oC .
I read further and there's some wild sweeping statements in there!
Now I'm of the mindset that you have to carefully size ASHP's or it could (and most probably will) end up in disaster. The way I read their advert, its only a case of connecting in flow, return and electricity and bingo! away you go!..

I foresee many unhappy customers, which IMHO will end up reflecting badly on heat pumps, all because of people like this who don't appear to have a clue about what they are selling.

Any thoughts?

he had plenty of opertunity to use a spell checker too! :speechless:

Looks like wharfe plumbing are setting themselves up as the next big joke in heatpumps a bit like the trianco activair, and what a pile of rubbish they were.

About our Heat pumps: Very Important! Our Heat pumps compete with the best Guranteed!

​Now that is a great statement to put on your advert ......... looks like something that would come from china?

How do they get the idea that R407c is inferior to R410a? They are similar replacement refrigerants to replace R22.. I smell something... and its not nice..
I only pity the 14 people who have already bought them.

To be fair to Roger who has been producing articles in the plumbing magazines that are free in all plumbers merchants for years I suspect that at the time of him making this video which is quite a few years old now believed the bull that was given to him by trianco.