Search the forum,

Discuss safe electrical isolation check before servicing a boiler in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,
After completing my plumbing NVQ I am now completing my gas portfolio after just spending a week placement with British Gas. Part of the boiler service is to complete a Dynamic Assessment Checklist and so first perform a safe electrical isolation check. Now this involves 2 tasks: 1st using an electric pen voltage tester over the boiler and 2nd using a socket and see device.
Where I get confused is does the pen tester to check earth continuity and the socket and see device to check the resistance polarity or the way around?
I am a newbie in the trade and need some clarification also as to what both tests differs from each other?
I thank in advance anyone who will offer its support.
Really appreciated guys!!
Thank you!!!

I assume you mean by pen tester is what is commonly known as a neon tester.
A device where you put it on an appliance and put a finger on the end.
You become the earth and if it lights up the item you are touching is live.
Make sure you test on a point that is not painted - eg screw through casing

A socket tester, I assume you mean a voltage tester, which will also check continuity & polarity.
Usually a device that has two probes, one connected to a deice that lights up with voltage and the other connected to this by a lead.

The first device is a simple test to see if the appliance and casing are live.
The second for testing individual components for voltage, continuity & polarity.

Hope this helps

I assume you mean by pen tester is what is commonly known as a neon tester.
A device where you put it on an appliance and put a finger on the end.
You become the earth and if it lights up the item you are touching is live.
Make sure you test on a point that is not painted - eg screw through casing