Search the forum,

Discuss rising main in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Rodders111

Hi all. Newbie here with a quick question.

I am just about to replace my old lead rising main with a new 25mm Mdpe one.

I plan to take this off the street straight into my attached garage, then up into to front box bedroom, along the landing, into the bathroom and then down into the kitchen.

After the stop tap, should I be using 15mm straight away or should I try to keep it at 22mm for as long as I can?

If you can go as far as you can with 22mm

Welcome Rodders111
Have you got your Water Regs ticket so you can self cert the new mains install ?
If not you should notify your Water Undertaker who will need to come & have a look, you will need to leave all the below ground pipework exposed until this time so they can inspect it.

MDPE (blue poly) can't be used above ground so you need to install a main stop valve followed by a drain off in the garage, as it comes out of the ground, it will also need to be sleeved as it enters & then insulated both below & above ground to the required standards.

As Shaun states if you want to maximise the available water flow then run the internal pipe in 22mm copper or plastic pressure pipe.

Last edited:
Hi chaps thanks for the replies. I appreciate your concern but I'm going through the correct channels regarding the new supply pipe. I have contacted the water board and they have given me permission to carry out the work.

After the job is done I know I have to get it signed off too.

I am only going to run the blue pipe to the garage and run copper pipe after the stop tap and drain off valve. I was automatically just going to use 15mm but then I realised I could use 22mm before bringing the 15mm into play.

I though that would be a good idea because it will keep my flow rate higher for longer. I just wanted to know if this was ok to do?