Search the forum,

Discuss Right Angle Drills in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Has anyone got any views on the best right angle drill to get? I'm going to install my own pipes and radiators. It's a big old house with really thick joists. So I want to get the most rugged drill for the job. I've looked at a Bosch and a Dewalt. They seem ok.

Also i'm unsure if I should get mains or re-chargeable. How many 3" Joists would I be able to drill through on a single charge?

Ian

Hi all
for my misfortune I have a mains powered hitachi angled drill I have found it to be under powered and some of my hole cutting adapters wont fit it so I would say definatly avoid them.
regards
Mike

if its just for nogging joists, then i use a circular saw (110 volt makita that i love) then a hammer and chisel. should use a mallet i spose, but hey im a plumber not a chippy.

failing that as mike says, a drill and auger bits!

good luck
shaun

ive got the makita angled drill and its very good with them all you need short augers i got mine from a company called ITS
you only need an angle drill if your using plastic pipe work if its copper you notch the top as describe above

Your supposed to drill then cut down to the hole when notching joists. I know no one ever does but if we're going give 100% correct advice.

Mike

and the maximum depth of notch should not exceed one eighth of the height of the joist.

Hi all
sounds like ive got to retire my old chainsaw then:rolleyes:
regards
mike

mike, your right. sometimes i just take stuff i know for granted, shall try to restrain meself to correct answers as opposed to stuff i think every1 should know anyway. too bigheaded for meself. apologies
shaun

We all do it. When you're doing stuff day in day out it's easy to forget the basics that you do without thinking.

Mike