Search the forum,

Discuss Removing Old Olives in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

pt44

Hi

1st post - so be nice to me ;)

I often have to remove old olives - and keep thinking to myself - there must be an easier way to do this? Is there any kind of special tool on the market or maybe a technique that I haven't thought of?

Currently I use the following method. Not very technical - but I'm no pro.

Bash the back of the nut against the olive - using an adjustable wrench around the pipe. If the olive is fairly new - this tends to remove them. However, if they are old and have been squeezed too hard - they don't budge. So my next step is usually to cut the pipe shorter and make good by adding a new section of pipe. This works, but often there is not much room for manoeuvre, so wondered is there is a better way?

Paul

buy an olive puller.
example.

[DLMURL]http://www.monument-tools.com/images2006/prodlistimages/olive_puller_2036t.jpg[/DLMURL]

their is a few different types of puller.
or you can cut the olive with a junior hacksaw but be careful not to cut the pipe.

if the olive is squashing into the pipe the it may be best to fit a new section as a new olive won't seal if the pipe is to damaged.

gros10-1.gif

Last edited by a moderator:
I have a dual-size olive puller (15/22 mm) that is useful, from Monument I believe. Not cheap, but much cheaper than buying one of each size. ([DLMURL="http://www.ukplumbersforums.co.uk/redirector.php?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.toolstation.com%2Fsearch.html%3Fsearchstr%3Dolive%2Bpuller%26Search%3D1"]Toolstation[/DLMURL] for £15.60 inc VAT)