Search the forum,

Discuss Re-route copper (water) pipes close to wall in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

chronicsys

IMG_0003.jpgIMG_0002.jpgGreetings All,

I would like to re-route my water pipes so they are closer to the wall to save space. (Dont worry I will add a wooden spacer in case the wall ever needs replastering, etc.). I am no expert but can handle most DIY jobs. Problems I have identified: I am a little worried about soldering when there is still water in the pipe (despite my tanks being emptied and mains cut off). I cannot cut the pipe in the bend as i dont think any sleeve will sit comfortably over bent tube - must be straight. I cannot cut the pipe before the bend as its too close to the wall to get to with pipe cutter.

Pictures attached. Any advice extremely gratefully received! Thanks in advance.

IMG_0002.jpg

IMG_0003.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
not sure whats going on. uploaded them to my server and attached links. maybe some judicious CTRL+F5 is needed to kick your browser into action. I can see them! have inline attached as well to be safe. thanks easyt for pointing out problem!

use a wet vac to remove water or poke some rag down to soak water up.

If too tricky, can you get a compression coupler into the wall and fit new pipework with new elbow from there? Another possibility is to ask a plumber out - could probably be done within an hour so shouldn't cost the earth.

If you explained the job first and said it's probably 1/2 hour to hour's work with a small amount of 15mm pipe and a few end feed fittings, he'd probably do it on his first visit which would make it cheaper for you.

thank you so much @shneld and @dontknowitall for the replies. the pipes start right up against the wall (literally touching) so i cannot get a coupler on to the pipe without knocking a little breezeblock out (which i am happy to do).