Search the forum,

Discuss Question regarding CCN1 in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

R.Oak

Hi guys, great forum here can see myself coming back very often. I have a question regarding getting on the 'Gas Safe' register.

I'm currently a self employed plumber, I hold the NVQ Level 2 in Mechanical Engineering services (100/3284/8) and Basic Plumbing studies (100/3356/7). I am looking to press on and get my 'Gas Safe' registration.

The problem I have is as a general plumber I do not have much experience with working on gas systems. I am given to understand that to sit my CCN1 assessments I am required to first have a portfolio of gas work I have completed. As a self employed plumber this is difficult to obtain because naturally I cannot touch anything gas related.

Im wondering if anyone else has encountered this problem and what would be the best way to proceed from here. Is there a course in which I can build my portfolio at the test centre under the supervision of a qualified instructor?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Rich

Hi Rich,
I am currently in the process of completing my portfolio. I only have 1 more install to complete and 2 more safety certificates then i'll be ready to sit my exams (if portfolio is up to scratch)

You cannot just go and complete a portfolio. As far as I understand, different course centers will have different criteria which you will have to fulfill. For example, i have to do 6 installs, 3 services and 3 safety certificates or 6 services , 3 installs and 3 safety certificates.