Search the forum,

Discuss Poss starting self employed - advice? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Soapy

Hello folks, i'm not a plumber I'm a Corgi service engineer. But hat's off to you plumber lads - we couldn't have civilisation without you. Fact. No running water or toilets and we'd still be living in huts. I watch too many documentaries about the romans on sky I think!:rolleyes:Did you know they made lead pipe? Also true. And next time some unskilled penpusher office monkey sneers at you remind him that he'd be the first called up in a war and over the trenches. Us tradesmen are more valuable:).

Anyway - back to what I meant to speak about.

Unfortunately when I left school in the 90's I accepted a job with BG(spit):mad: and it was all downhill from there.

I'm looking for a way out but working for a similar firm with similar structure and management would be just as bad(well maybe nearly as bad-Robert Mugabe could run a company better).

I'd rather work for myself or work for a local small outfit but I really need to think about it and obviously now is a bad time to start out with the credit crunch etc. In saying that though, I live in a big city with other towns and cities 30 minutes drive away. I reckon if I'm prepared to travel then there must be work around. Folk will do without holidays abroad, new cars and that but people need hot water to wash and heating in winter in this country and cook.

The majority of my experience has been repair work on most types and makes of gas appliances. I was involved in a lot of boiler installations as an appprentice but we stopped all that years ago and I'm not up to speed on installation work as I'm out of practice.

I've got Acs again, LPG acs, unvented.

I did a proper apprenticeship, not the new fast track training thing they do now to replace experienced good guys they've driven out the door.