Currently reading:
plumbing courses

Discuss plumbing courses in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

neilbowley

hi, i am new at this so i will just ask away i guess. i am neil by the way.

i am trying to get set on my career path and seeking all options open to me and whats the best way about it. i am looking at plumbing training courses and came across trade qualified. have had information sent threw the post and spoke to the guy and all seems good.
but is it i think to my self?
is it all truth? will the training i do able me to go out and be a plumber on my own, self imployed as well as with a company?
one of the things that i was told was that you do not need a n v q to be a plumber just cirtian cirtificates that the course provides.
can someone give me the answers? :confused::confused:

Hey, I am also new to the site and am also considering a new career in plumbing. The trouble is there are no decent colleges locally which can offer me flexible study study as I am currently in full time employment, thereofore my only option may be to consider one of these training centres who charge a small fortune.

From what I understand you would ideally be aiming for the C&G 6129 with the added NVQ C&G 6089. The questions I would like answered are:

1. When qualified what are the actual chances of finding decent work, I assume you would need to go self employed as no one wants to recruit someone who has no experience?

2. Has anyone on here actually gained the NVQ without doing an apprenticeship and found work ok when they qualified.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am unsure about wasting several thousands of pounds to end up as a failed plumber a couple of years down the line

Cheers

Jim