Search the forum,

Discuss Overflow in a flat- Any suggestions? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Colobus

Was doing work for a customer some months ago, and he mentioned that a few neighbours had told him his overflow was leaking outside. He lives in a block of about 8 flats. He said he hadn't noticed anything, but I had a look round and couldn't see anything myself. Left it at that.

He's called this week and said his management company have told him he needs to get the overflow fixed, so I'm going back out. What is it likely to be? I'm fairly new at this game and still working on fault finding! Is it likely that his management company may have the wrong flat? What would you check?

Thanks in advance :)

Arrange, through customer, for site meeting with management company. Start by clearly identifying over flow. Possible management company are taking word of neighbours as fact. State neither you or customer were able to identify fault during previous inspections.

is it an overflow?
or a dripping pressure valve?

needs to be identified where the problem is then work back.
depending what it is you may or may not be qualified to recolve it??

Thanks everyone for your suggestions. I went to the flat and could not find anything that may have been the cause. I emailed the management company to let them know (it sounds like they've been hassling the customer) and they've sent me a photo of his overflow outside. It's made the surrounding brickwork damp and moss appears to have grown- but on the photo it isn't showing flowing water. And I couldn't see anything. The flat has no boiler so doubt it's anything to do with that! Any further help would be greatly appreciated as the tenant is very elderly and the management company seem to be giving him a lot of grief, even though he's clearly trying to sort it.