Discuss oil combi boilers in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Can anyone rec what they think to be the best oil fired combi on the market at the moment,and why they rate it as one of the best,
I have no experience of oil fired,but a relative has just bought a property in Yorkshire with no NG.
Many thanks for any replies.

Preferance would be cylinder and boiler, but if no other choice imho best of the combis are the Grants

Grants every time, Trianco or WB as less preferable 2nd choice. Wouldn't touch Firebird, Warmflow or Grandee with the proverbial end of the stick.

Is that Pref for cylinder and boiler just for oil Roger? is there a prob with oil combis in general in your oppinion.?

Thanks for your input WHPS can I ask why such a pref for Grants,I take it the Grandee and Warmflow are the heatline of oil boilers.

They are a lot better build quality (yes I know they still can have one or two minor problems, but they are rare). Firebirds are leaky horrible things and the company is really unhelpful with problems. Warmflow are flimsy and I have had problems with them. Triancos are ok. WB not as well made as they used to be and can be awkward to work on. Grandee are terrible to work on and install.

Combis are suitable for some properties and not others and I wouldn't make a sweeping statement advising boiler and cylinder instead.

Suitability depends on water requirements and property sizes. For a small to medium sized property 1 bathroom they are great. For anything larger you need to be looking at an unvented cylinder and system boiler.

Last edited:
Is that Pref for cylinder and boiler just for oil Roger? is there a prob with oil combis in general in your oppinion.?

Just in general, Oil combi's actually perfom better than gas, due to the thermal stores built into them 15 l min is average.