Discuss Nvq 2 funding in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Robert_Lloyd

Hi everyone,
I'm new to this site & was wondering if someone could give me some advice. I am a trainee plumber who has done the 6129 level 2 cert. I have recently completed some paid work experience with a construction company in Wolverhampton & now feel ready to do my NVQ 2. I've just managed to secure some voluntary work, 2 days a week, which is brillant as it's difficult finding work experience. My problem is that i have to pay for my NVQ. Well this is what i was told at Bilston College in Wolverhampton. I was under the impression that, by law, a level 2 qualification was free to all. The 6129 that i completed was free as i was unemployed but it is not a full level 2 qualification until i do the NVQ side of it. I have explained that i am not in paid work but they say i have to pay whether i'm unemployed or working. Is this correct? Is there anywhere where i can get funding for the course? I'm aslo on the so called government work program who have been completely useless in finding me work. I found my last work experience without their help & secured my cuurent voluntary work without their help. They can't offer any advice on funding, neither can the jobcentre. Ironically, i use to work for the jobcentre before losing my jobs to due to cutbacks. This is why i decided on a career change & have been training to be a plumber ever since. Any advice on the funding issue will be appreciated, thanks. Sorry to waffle on so much.
icon9.png

Last edited by a moderator:
If I knew someone who used to work at the jobcentre I'd be asking them :)
There were jobless people on the course I did and I know they got the tech cert side for free. None of them did the NVQ so maybe there is no funding for it.