Search the forum,

Discuss New CH system quotation in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Percy84

Gas Engineer
Hello guys. New member to the forum. I'm a gas safe registered engineer and just set up working for myself after always being employed. I'm just looking for advice from you guys in regards to quoting for jobs as I've never really had to deal with pricing large jobs. I've done a fair few small jobs and straight forward boiler swaps but I've been asked by a customer to quote for a complete install where there is no existing boiler only a cylinder and emersion. The customer wants a 30kw combi with 8 rads over three floors with all pipework included. It'll be the first complete system I've done by myself and I'm really struggling to price the job. So I was just wondering how you guys go about estimating for materials and labour and pricing accordingly. Sorry if it's a long winded post and I appreciate any advise or criticism. Thanks in advance.

First of all your post is not long winded; it's actually short and straight to the point which is the best way to get replies here in the forums.

Figuring out how to price and what to charge when first starting out on your own is always a headache - and will continue to be for many months to come. I personally don't carry out gas work these days, only general plumbing, so I'll just direct you to the Gas Safe Registered Plumbers Only forum which is where you're likely to get a better insight into how GSR's like yourself work these jobs out.

Welcome to the forums and good luck!

• Agree
Reactions: Dan
Boiler, flue, clock, filter etc and add 5%
Work out material costs and add 25%
Work out how long it will take to do the job and multiply by your daily rate then add a day for phuq up factor
If they say its a bit high, offer to knock ÂŁ100/200 off for cash