Search the forum,

Discuss Need some help/a little advice. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Apprentice

Hi guys,

I just joined this forum under the recommendation from a Tradesman I've been working with to see if I can pursue my career down-south (Coventry).

I'm currently enrolled in a 4 year Apprenticeship in Edinburgh, Scotland in which I've served 2 almost 3 years at work and done a year at college, all I have left to do is my Central Heating and Gas. But for personal reasons I've come to the conclusion that I won't finish my apprenticeship in Scotland and this isn't an easy decision for me as I've worked hard since I left school to secure it, all in all I've got about almost 5 years experience in the trade.

I'm very experienced in maintenance work & installs. Installations consist of Bathrooms (W.Cs, WHBs, Baths, Showers) and Kitchens. I've started to do Heating and know quite a lot about the different systems and how boilers etc work, just never had on-site experience as the firm I'm with only specify that plumbers do plumbing work; Gas Engineers would deal with that.

I'm dedicated, have good time-keeping and I'm very keen to pursue my career as a Plumber as it's something I've always wanted to do and I could do it here but just personal reasons have forced me to reach out and try to do it elsewhere. I have a lot of good references and can provide proof of the type of work I've done.

My questions simply consist of, how could I go about completing my Apprenticeship without being employed as I've heard it works different in England than it does Scotland. My other obvious question would be going about getting employed. I've already asked around and have a few people down there willing to help me out but can't employ me but they are going to ask around so I'm crossing my fingers.

Hopefully someone on here can lend me a hand or point me in the right direction.

Thanks.