Search the forum,

Discuss My degree is holding me back?? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Y

yessiebo

Hi all,

Been looking into becoming a plumber, getting pretty keen but also want to make sure I'm taking the right route... So after reading quite a bit into I thought I'd go for an apprenticeship because I'm only 23 and lots of people seem to recommend it as the best route to take. But apparently since I'm a graduate I'm not allowed to go for an apprenticeship! Any advice on apprenticeships that will take on graduates, or what course I should take as an alternative?

Cheers,

Jess

Try asking Citizens Advice for clarification. I know it's quite common for graduates to retrain in trades now. Too many graduates and not enough jobs for them, start looking at other options. As to apprenticeships I really don't know. I guess you would have to be unemployed for a set length of time first.

Last edited:
Hi all,

Been looking into becoming a plumber, getting pretty keen but also want to make sure I'm taking the right route... So after reading quite a bit into I thought I'd go for an apprenticeship because I'm only 23 and lots of people seem to recommend it as the best route to take. But apparently since I'm a graduate I'm not allowed to go for an apprenticeship! Any advice on apprenticeships that will take on graduates, or what course I should take as an alternative?

Cheers,

Jess

thats a load of rubbish, not the truth, a degree does not stop you doing an apprenticeship. ignore this detail and carry on looking for a job as an apprentice

The problem with a grad looking for an apprentiship is the funding.... probably had loads of funding already and as apprentices now are mainly partly funded you can't have it again.

Eco

The problem with a grad looking for an apprentiship is the funding.... probably had loads of funding already and as apprentices now are mainly partly funded you can't have it again.