Search the forum,

Discuss Mdpe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaydebruyne

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Gotta do some work on MDPE tomorrow - removing a leaking coupling which looks like a philmac from MDPE to copper. And also adding an elbow.

I've never worked with MDPE before.

a) can I just cut the pipe with ratchet plastic cutters?
b) how does the non compression end of a philmac come away from the pipe?
c) what fittings are best/easiest used with MDPE?

Yes you can cut with ratchet plastic cutters , depends on the make of fitting really on demounting , Phil mac is easy to use lossen nut put liner in the pipework slide pipe in the fitting tighten hand tight and half a turn job done , secret is keep everything clean and burr free good luck bud

Yes you can cut with ratchet plastic cutters , depends on the make of fitting really on demounting , Phil mac is easy to use lossen nut put liner in the pipework slide pipe in the fitting tighten hand tight and half a turn job done , secret is keep everything clean and burr free good luck bud

Cheers mate, much appreciated

Talbot push fit are the, "gold standard",especially if buried underground but philmac or plasson above ground will suffice. Square cut, with straight blade, necessary as saw cut leaves swarf that impedes insert. Take note of how screwed fittings go together. Cone orientation and O ring. For screwed couplings slacken off half the thread and push pipe with insert fully into fitting. This to ensure split cone correctly positioned prior to tightening.
If changing MDPE to copper internally, consider using brass/poly stopcock that comes with copper insert and appropriate copper olives.