Search the forum,

Discuss Macerator major issue!!!! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bluebirds

I'm a student tenant of a flat, and my flat has a toilet with a macerator. When I moved in, I was told to not put anything 'un-natural' down there, which I have followed. But tonight, after a dump, it seems like the macerator has broke.

The flushing system no longer flushes any water down or even makes any attempt (that loud noise to suck the stuff down), so its just still water in the bowl.
The macerator is connected to both a sink and shower in the bathroom though and is still working perfectly for both of those.

Any ideas on what I should do?

Unlikely to be the macerator if it's working for sink and shower. Probably a blockage in the toilet outlet which is preventing water going into the macerator and triggering it.

As you're a tenant, you should call your landlord / agency and report it. If you cause a bigger problem by attempting repairs you may end up facing a bill for damage cause...

Thanks for the advice, that's lifted a monetary weight off my shoulders a little.

Do you press a button at the back left hand corner to put water in the toilet bowl?

No, I just flushed it once, i'm unsure of whatever button you're implying?

Just throw a washing up bowl of water down the pan then.

Sorry i misread,

The bowl is currently full of dirty water.. I should rid of that first I assume?

Sorry i misread,

The bowl is currently full of dirty water.. I should rid of that first I assume?

Is the noise of the macerator still working when the shower and basin are in use? If yes then RPM is right likely just a localized blockage at the toilet bowl. However if it's not and the shower tray is fill up then either these are not connected to the same macerator or they are letting by some how. Confiirm this first.