Search the forum,

Discuss leaking pipe from water tank in loft in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

sijh

Can anyone help please.

I have no plumbing knowledge and will explain in simple terms.

I have two water tanks in loft (big and little)
Coming from the bigger tank the pipe that feeds outside is dripping onto our patio. Sometimes its a slow constant dripping and then it can seem to stop altogether. Its quite bad and has filled a bucket in the last few days. In this big tank there is a white tap that is constantly refilling the tank. (even when Ive no taps turned on in the house)

In the small tank when Ive been up in the loft doesnt seem to be doing anything. (i.e no water being fed back in)

Should both the tanks be refilling constantly?

Hope that makes sense.
Can anyone help please. What might be the cause and how to rectify.
thank you

Simon

hi simon
what is happening is that your ball cock needs looking at by a plumber, it sounds very much like the washer needs replacing because it shouldn't be running all the time, only when an amount of water is drawn off from a tap in your house then only to replace what was used.

steve

Thanks Steve

Yes, ive just been up into the loft this morning and in the larger tank there is a slow drip which is coming from where the washer is.

When I gently lift the ball cock (only slightly) the dripping stops.

Simon

simon
you deffo need a new washer at the very least. did you say the inlet was white as in plastic? if so i would replace the whole unit with a brass one, they are more robust and last longer.
steve

Steve, yes its white and plastic.

Do you think its something easy that I can do myself. ( a trip to b & q)
I'm nipping up into the loft again now for another look to see if it looks straight forward to replace.

I appreciate your help.
Simon