Search the forum,

Discuss Inserting tap isolator into fixed pipework in situ in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Springer5

Hi all

I'm new to plumbing and I want to install some isolator valves for a couple of taps in a house I've just moved into.

I've seen just about every video on the Web on how to use compression joints and that all seems pretty straight forward.

The problem is this. ...

The taps are old and are built in behind a cupboard space. Basically they would be a nightmare to remove.
So once I've cut the pipework below the tap ready to insert my isolator, how can I actually physically get it in there?

What I'll have once I've cut it is 2 sections of pipe. 1 coming up from under the floor the other down from the (still fixed in) tap. Both sections will still be fixed in place and I'm not sure how I'll be able to get the isolator into the gap.

Will I be able to bend the pipes slightly to open up the gap temporarily?

All the videos I've seen are demonstrated using little sections of pipe that that are free at both ends so can obviously be maneuvered into the joint.

Thanks in advance

hi springer welcome to the forums. you may be lucky in that when you cut the pipe you will find that there is play in it to enable you to fit the isos.

you might have enough play to get them in or you might not. It takes a bit of experience to be able to judge how much you can bend the pipe. If there is no room then you will have to modify the pipework slightly.

get a repair coupling which has no stop inside side you will have to cut out a section of pipe

get a repair coupling which has no stop inside side you will have to cut out a section of pipe

Hi folks. Thanks for all your suggestions. I have decided to try Stevens idea of using a repair coupling.
I'll cut out a section of pipe put the isolator into that turn use repair couplings to rejoin the section to the main pipework.