Discuss Impluse Novice Purchase - Did I Buy The Right/Best Filter? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi All,

We have a older Version Worcester Bosch 35CDi Boiler (probably for about 15+ years). We have never had any protection on it & Bosch usually come round every year to either put new parts or service it.

Limescale is a major problem for us in NW London & everything scales up pretty badly & quickly.

I had been looking at a number of Magnetic Filters & my list of considerations were:
  1. Fernox TF1 Omega
  2. Fernox TF1
  3. Sentinel Vortex 300
  4. Magnaclean Professional 2
  5. Trappex Centramag 2
  6. Inta Intaclean 2
  7. Altenic Dirtmag IQ
  8. Mid-Brass Mag Tek.
I was put of the Magnaclean Pro 2 as it could not swivel & for some reason, I really liked the Sentinel 300 Vortex as it is the latest model with supposedly new tech that really delivers the goods but I could find no reviews on it & as a novice, I do get swayed by the marketing hype & bold claims all the brands make these days.

It got so silly, that I was even at one point basing my final choices purely on external looks (they all seem pretty similar externally anyway) but I have no idea which actually perform better!

I watched a bunch of YouTube Videos & there was a Plumber who was very enthusiastic indeed about the Fernox TF1 Omega & stated that this is the only model he fits anymore which I took note of. The online reviews seemed very glowing as well with many saying the same thing.

So, on a pure whim & without checking if it might be suitable for our boiler & system, I did a silly thing & made an impulse purchase of the TF1 Omega with 22mm Valves.

Is it really as good as the hype or are there other models better for my system - how would it compare to the new Sentinal Vortex 300 for example? It's just that to me & from the online pics, the TF1 Omega seems a bit on the small side compared to the others so I wonder if it is strong or as powerful as the others?