Search the forum,

Discuss how reliable are compression joints? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennie

Gas Engineer
Hi all,
I'm curious about the reliability of compression fittings.
I recently re-fitted a compression iso valve to my father's outdoor tap. It had been leak free for 25+ years. But this year, when he opened the valve water gushed out under the sink (the brass olive inside had lost its bite, and the copper pipe could be pulled back/forth in the joint.
I re-made the joint. But it got me thinking.
How reliable could the other fittings in his house be? This was a brass olive (I've seen other posts debating copper v brass olives).
I'm a student plumber, and was formerly under the impression that once a compression fitting had been tested, it was pretty much good for ever. How would you advise a homeowner on this?
I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on this.
Jennie

Oh yeah, of course. That leads to another question - how to drain the tap and pipework during winter. He had turned the iso valve off. I suppose he ran the tap on the outside, (but don't know for sure). However, he doesn't have a drain valve fitted, so there would still be water in the pipework. No double check valve either. It's an oldish tap, so I suppose it doesn't have an internal check valve either.
Any tips?
Thanks, Jennie

It's been mentioned on here before, but for future reference:
If you're fitting an o/s tap, do it in such a way to allow ALL the water to drain out when you close the ISO and open the tap. i.e. pipework goes downhill from internal ISO. Makes winter draining fool proof.

In fairness I agree with Reg Man, isolate it and then leave the tap open and it will be OK. But what you say is true, there should be a way to drain the tap/pipe work too.

I've got customers who are way too lazy to bother doing that though!