Search the forum,

Discuss Homemade tools, gadgets and gizmo's in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kay-jay

Hi,

after reading many posts on here i have come across interesting bits of home made kit such as plauasne's pressure test kit, and ferret's flexi hoses connecting the mains to the open vent to blow airlocks out of heating circuit back up the cold feed into the tank.
thought it may be interesting to start a thread about the ingenious ways we have all found for getting around problems in various plumbing applications,so that the info can all be found in one place.

as a recently qualified plumber my input here will be limited.....but to get the ball rolling;-

i made a waste fixing tool out of 3/4" steel pipe about 8 inches long. across the cross section i cut with a hacksaw about 7mm down just short of the centre line. and again just beyond the centre line. the result is 2 protruding edges similar to the 'dogs' on a tank connector only more prominent(7mm). sticking this in the waste and holding it there stops it spinning when tightening the backnuts.

KJ:D

Last edited by a moderator:
Good idea I use a screw driver which i don't think is the best way to go about it lol

Not really a homemade tool, but a lesson learnt. I was fishing for a wire through ceiling joists, cursing as I couldn't reach it with my rods.

There was a security systems installer onsite. He asked me if I wanted his help. In the end, (after a long, long time. exasperated) I let him have a go, and with security cable (which is thinner) and a coat hanger, he did it in two mins. Fished his cable through, tied mine to it, and pulled my 1.5 T&E through.

I was gutted and delighted all at once.

Haha I can't carry two screwdrivers round with me who do you think i am a sparky or summat?!

Hi,