Search the forum,

Discuss Help with propane torch please. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone, I'm retired, thank the God's, so now my time is filled with hobby work and avoiding real work at all costs :D

I recently got into small steam engines and managed ok for a while with my Mapp gas torch, but anything other than "really small" is a pain to silver solder, so I bought a propane bottle and a torch.

I have a couple of questions and a problem.

The torch is second hand, it's made by Calor but I cant find any info on them, are they any good ?

It came with a 22mm burner which will be ok for most stuff and a whopping great 40mm which is ideal for steam boilers, does anyone know if there are other burners available ? I need a small one so I can do away with the Mapp gas, the thread looks to be 14mm.

And I have a problem but not sure its worth fixing, back in the 70's I worked as a Plumber, but I spent all my time lead burning with Propane/Oxy, I was given a little Sievert torch but never used it as it wasn't suitable. Today I hooked it up to try it, what I got was a big flame with no pressure, like air wasn't getting through, it looks clear but might need stripping, any thoughts ?

Any help or comments much appreciated.

was it something like this? / A real old wire handle

$_99.JPG

also did you have your oxygen bottle connected as well as the propane ?

Hi and thanks, the Calor torch I have is like the one in the photo, that's the one I would like to get a smaller burner/nozzle for.
The Sievert is a Propane torch not oxy/propane, thats the one with the flame problem

Don't think you can get small nozzles for your calor (normally medium and large)

And normally they don't have the capacity of a pre mix to get a bluer flame

120L Brazing And Welding Torch Kit