Search the forum,

Discuss Help to identify a push-fit fitting. Poly/Copper ?? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

tone

Hi Guys, Im a DIY plumber when needs must and have been asked to fit a new kitchen mixer tap by my brother-in-law.

Easy, I thought having fitted the father-in-laws last week but when I looked under the sink, the push fit connections used to connect the current system were a mystery to me.

They are a grey polypipe type material with a large copper sleeve at the joint and have ablue ring around the copper sleeve which is obviously the release ring.

Just like this>
new_tech_inst4.jpg

Around the blue ring section, it is stamped WAVIN and there are several small round holes which I assume some tool is inserted into to unscrew it. It also appears that once the ring has been released and the fitting dismantled, the joint is non-reusable ??

My questions are, what the hell are these known as and where to get them?

What tool is required to release the lock ring ? I imagine a pair or circlip pliers would do the job.

If there is an alternative would it be OK to make the new tap connections to the tails using a HEP2 or John Guest fitting ???

Thanks very much for the help in advance.
Cheers
Tone

Osma gold, we used them back in the late 90s, had a few of them magicly unscrew themselves after being connected for 18mnths:eek: so i wouldnt bother unscrewing them your self. they come/came with a special spanner for unscrewing. use jg or hep 20 with the correct insert on the pipe as an alternative, they did the job but never really took off, there are much better fittings out there so dont bother trying to find replacements, techtite, speedfit, hep20 etc etc.

Last edited by a moderator:
Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Help to identify a push-fit fitting. Poly/Copper ?? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics