Search the forum,

Discuss HELP: Pressurised/Unvented cylinder - No hot water, central heating works fine in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Problem: No hot water from unvented cylinder, although central heating works fine.

Hi All - apologies for the lengthy post but I'm keen to get across as much detail as possible.

I'm a novice, any advise would be really appreciated.

Setup:
Pressurised/unvented cylinder (Tempest)
System Boiler (Worcester)
2 x 2 port motorised Honeywell valves
Nest smart control

General info:
Installed 3 months ago (previously gravity fed) - no problems since now.
Water softener installed 2 months ago - no problems until now.
When turning on HW from the app I can hear the click from the HeatLink.
HW temp set to around 63 degrees, pressure gauge indicated being at 1.5.

Scenario 1:
Turn on HW from the nest app.
- HW icon says ‘on’ but does not go orange as it usually would.
- Boiler does not “fire” up i.e. the green light doesn’t flick on.
- HW 2 port valve stays in the ‘closed’ position i.e. there is resistance when trying to turn it to the manual override function.

= No HW.

The above would suggest a problem with the HW 2-port valve.

However, when I turn the valve to the override ‘on’ position, the boiler still doesn't fire up and still get no hot water.

This suggests a problem with the boiler.

Scenario 2:
I turn on both HW and CH from the HeatLink manual control panel.
- Both icons in the app go orange (as you would expect).
- Boiler fires up, light goes green.
- 2 port valve for CH frees up, HW stays in the closed position.

= CH comes on, but no HW.

Again, this suggests a problem with the HW 2-port valve.

However this is where things get strange:

Following on from Scenario 2:

- I now place the 2-port HW valve in the override position
= I get HW.
- I leave it like this for 10/15 minutes (both HW and CH are on and working).
- Turn both HW and CH off from the HeatLink.