Search the forum,

Discuss help please in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

sleevydawg

Hi Everyone, Please help... im wanting to change career and become a plumbing and heating engineer. Im in full time employment and cant afford to and am too old to be an apprentice, im looking at doing distance courses, buy im unsure about qualifications that I would gain and they are ok in the industry. I have basic knowledge of plumbing and heating and have the confidence to tackle most related jobs around the home. please advise....thanks guys and gals

Extremely hard to break into if you have to have a full wage all the time.

As a newbie you would struggle to demand a wage to support yourself.
Most employers wouldn't gamble that on you and you can't exactly blame them.

you could go self employed but with lack of experience you can be in a world of pain.

with a full time job you can't say you will pop back in the mornings either.

before you commit to a wonder course offer yourself as free labour to local plumbers on your days off.
slightly different ballgame when you are doing it at a trade level.

I was in the same position as you. I've taken the course and passed it (while working) but the course is only the C&G. To get the NVQ2 you need to find work yourself and have verifiers come and sign it off. I am attempting to find work with just the C&G but it's difficult unless you have money to advertise yourself (which I don't).

I had a large job March 2013 so I left work and went self-employed - I don't regret that one bit - however work has been slow as I haven't got the experience/confidence to take on all the jobs so I'm looking for work as a plumbers mate.