Search the forum,

Discuss Help gratefully appreciated on 3mb drop in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mikimac

Hi, I'm a new gas engineer & have a job where I've increased a pipe run as the old pipe was inadequate for the existing 31kw boiler & a new 12.95kw range. I did, as usual tape the ends of the 28mm pipe when taking them into the loft especially as this loft not only had rock wool but was full of vermiculite too.

After tightness i purged the boiler & the air/gas pressure exiting the open pipe seemed good ie no sound of blockage or struggle. The problem I have is this.. Working pressure at the meter is 22mb. Working at the boiler inlet is 19mb so this I would indicate as a blockage (working pressure on the range taken at the boiler is 22mb) but before I go cutting the pipework to check it all I wondered if it could be a filter on the gas valve before p1 (if that's where the filter is) any advice would be gratefully appreciated.

The pipe run is:
17m x 28mm & 4m x 22mm to boiler
6m x 15mm to range

Check the manufacturers instructions for the boiler as some manufactures allow more loss due to restrictions before the test point on the gas valve

Last edited:
Thanks mikegas, I spoke to Vaillant technical & did a flue gas analysis which was perfect. Valiant said they were looking for a minimum 17mb at the boiler & as I had 19mb & good co & co2 they were happy but it's been bugging away at me all weekend as to why the drop.

Never a good thing as the volume of gas will always be restricted, even using 28mm. Could do with a bigger meter outlet, but I don't know if/where they are available from. Is it a long run and what was the drop before?