Search the forum,

Discuss Gas meter information in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

robbo2777

Hello all,

Firstly, I apologise if this isn't posted in the correct section.

I've been invited to an interview with SSE for a meter installer role. I am qualified in MET1, however, I have zero real experience working with meters. Its been well over a year since I passed, and I cannot find my notes anywhere!

I was wondering if anyone had any useful links to anything relevant that I could use to revise and remind myself of the correct procedures etc that they will expect me to demonstrate during a practical assessment.

Thanks in advance!

I'd imagine its straight forward old meter out new meter in TT and go, obviously with temp bonding and making sure the meters installed correctly filling in paper work and sticking shear bolt on

All the usual stull when doing general gas work.

Built over mains
Fall safe
Labels
Support
Corrosion
Earth size position
Uncommisioned appliances - cap off at meter
Purge and relight

So on and so forth

Well with some places at least lol (utilita) i was gonna sub for have an auditing place dip sampling afterwards.
Spoke to a lad who grafted on it and the auditors earned/justified their keep.
I ended up knocking it back as the money was karp and too many penaltys if you gave it up.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks to all that replied!

Just want to get it all fresh in my head. nerves more than anything.

As for customer service skills, my plan is to show them printouts of my feedback from customers on Checkatrade.com - the proof is in the pudding.

On that note, if any of you are self employed then I would highly recommend signing up with checkatrade. Its the only form of advertising I use now and is so much better than local magazine etc.

Thanks again!

Build your post count up to 10+, then send gasman a private message how to join the gas private forum.