Search the forum,

Discuss Gas boiler, room thermostat, timer and remote boost in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

I am not a gas engineer or domestic electrician, but have electrical experience so should understand the answers.

Question does not relate to a specific installation (at this stage).

Scenario:
House used as Air B+B
Intend to install boiler and timer in a storage area where guests will not have access.
Timer will be set for specific hours
I want to give guests an option to boost heating when they are present.

If I understand correctly most modern gas combi systems are wired with live going to timer, then to thermostat,then to boiler (often the SL connection).

If I install a timer of the type typically used for an immersion heater (beside the thermostat) with timer output going to the thermostat input (same connection as coming from timer) I assume this remote boost will have same effect as the boost on the hidden timer?

If I am correct, any issues with doing this?

Q2 Assuming above works as I described does anyone have any suggestions for a very simple 2 wire wifi (smart) device or thermostat that would allow me to boost remotely from an app?

If I have misunderstood how the heating system works I am happy for this to be pointed out.

Thanks ColinK

Hi ColinK

You’d be better just installing a smart thermostat because you can program the times in electronically if they wish to turn the heating on (boost) they can do so.

Finally as you’re intending to get a new boiler installed you must have a weather compensation thermostat. However if you’re going for a smart thermostat that will also do the weather compensating for you.

Hope that helps.

Also most new boilers require the casing to be taken off to wire in the timer/stat. You will have to be gas safe registered to do this. You will not legally be able to do it yourself.