Search the forum,

Discuss Filling in hole & covering gas pipe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

James01

Hi All, I've just had a new gas fire and fireplace installed and I need to fill a hole of about 6" x 3" on the wall, I can see the gas pipe. Which is the best way to do this? I was thinking of somehow protecting the gas pipe then filling it in. Any advice would be appreciated, I am a total novice. Thanks.

You mean you need to fill in what's left of a chased in gas pipe ??

Hello James.

A photo or two of the installation would be a great help to
decide on the best approach to help you.

if the installers left you with a hole after installation you should get them back to sort it

Does the gas pipe go through the side of the breast wall into the chimney catchment space ??? And there's a gap around that...?

Its not clear from your description some photos would help

Does the gas pipe go through the side of the breast wall into the chimney catchment space ??? And there's a gap around that...?

Its not clear from your description some photos would help

Sorry, does this photo help?

Attachments

• 001.jpg
    001.jpg
    80.8 KB · Views: 70
The installer has kindly protected the gas pipe for you with tape, tbh although it isn't recommended it will suffice so you can fill it with what you like, mortar, plaster, filler depends how good a finish you want.

Would prefer hole filled and pipe left visible. This to prevent damage when making good skirting and laying carpet.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Filling in hole & covering gas pipe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

R
After some advice, had a gas fire removed and now left with the pipe capped and a hole which houses the pipe which was behind the fireplace. How is best to cover this up and fill it please?
Replies
Views
Deleted member 120897
D