Search the forum,

Discuss Electrician looking to add skills in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Saucepan

Hello everyone. I wonder if I could get some advice?

I am an electrician (20 years) and like most other people I am struggling for work. I have been fitting solar PV panels for the last 2 years but as you're probably aware, the backside has fallen out of the market. I am considering a plumbing course to try and get into other renewable energy technologies - Solar thermal etc.

Like most electricians, I am pretty handy when it comes to the practical side of plumbing but I'm probably sadly lacking on the theory side. My aim is to do a short sharp course (8 weeks) and get my qualifications that way. I know this kind of approach is often frowned upon (our industry has plenty 5 week wonders....) and I am aware that this won't make me an experienced plumber - but it's a step.

I wonder if some members could give me some advice on good training providers, or warn me off the bad ones? Ideally I would like to train in Birmingham.

I appreciate your help.

I will swop you, you provide me with details of a good (no more than 8 week) course which makes me qualified & allows me to work as a skilled sparks & I will sort you out with a plumbing one that does the same thing. Can't say fairer than that, as I have not got any work at moment perhaps we could swop over job's !! what do you say ?

Sorry fella, I can't help you. I did an apprenticeship so I have no experience of short courses.

Go for the Part P course Chris.
Only five days and you'll learn all there is to know about electrics. ;)

Go for the Part P course Chris.
Only five days and you'll learn all there is to know about electrics. ;)
Five day's that sounds OK, much better than 8 weeks !! How much do they cost ?? Got to be cheaper, if that is all it takes.