Search the forum,

Discuss Domestic expansion vessels and HSG274 Part 2 in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Raver

Hi guys,

Quick practical question, I work in the control of Legionella industry as a consultant my background is microbiology and I am fairly limited in terms of practical plumbing skills. The new guidance on controlling the risk in domestic hot and cold water systems (HSG274 Part 2) suggests that expansion vessels should be purged. May of my clients accept this but frequently ask ok how do I purge these vessels and I never know what to say....any advice on how this is done?
Thanks in advance

If purge means simply empty the vessel of water then issolate the water if its an unvented hot water cylinder vessel. Then drain off sufficient water to allow the membrane full of air to squeeze out the water. Too be totally sure you would probably have to remove the vessel and also depressurise the precharged air/gas bladder.
I have seen reference to expansion vessels with 2 water connections intended to permit the water to circulate through the vessel during expansion, combating stagnation and the cultivation of legionella. rather than just remain captive however I have never seen one.

Am I correct in thinking expansion vessels in unvented hot water systems should be fitted vertically with the inlet at the bottom to prevent stagnation / microbial growth? That is what I've been instructed on commercial jobs.

That's how we fit them.

Wouldn't see how discharging it will help? It's steel and rubber, the rubber is filled with water, the pores in the rubber won't be cleansed by emptying and refilling. Also in purging your going to be vaporising the spores - creating a massive risk. It's a bit like asbestos best left un disturbed. If by a miracle the system under pressurised then the dirty water will be heated in the unvented to over 60c thus rendering bacteria.