Search the forum,

Discuss cost of oftec registration in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mike_s

had one of my good customers call me today, pretty desperate as her oil boiler has broken down and she couldnt get hold of her usual oil engineer.

I do all of her gas work and landlord safety checks but all I could say was that I'm sorry I'm not qualified to work on oil boilers and I have no experience of it. I suggested she look on oftecs website for a local engineer which she was grateful of and did get someone out to it.

I have only come across 2 oil boilers in 8 years, I looked at the pricing of oftec 101 courses etc and it's looking like around £500 + registration fees.

How much is the registration and do you have to renew the quals every 5 years like the acs?

Probably not going to be worth it to me, anyone do much oil work?

I'd sooner do lpg and suggest she gets an lpg tank instead or a heat pump as I'm investing in renewables next year. She does have a large detached house probs 5 bedrooms + and says its very expensive to run on oil.

had one of my good customers call me today, pretty desperate as her oil boiler has broken down and she couldnt get hold of her usual oil engineer.

I do all of her gas work and landlord safety checks but all I could say was that I'm sorry I'm not qualified to work on oil boilers and I have no experience of it. I suggested she look on oftecs website for a local engineer which she was grateful of and did get someone out to it.

I have only come across 2 oil boilers in 8 years, I looked at the pricing of oftec 101 courses etc and it's looking like around £500 + registration fees.

How much is the registration and do you have to renew the quals every 5 years like the acs?

Probably not going to be worth it to me, anyone do much oil work?