Search the forum,

Discuss Connecing side entry fill valve in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

DudleySmith

Hi there, plumbing newbie here. I'm trying to replace a malfunctioning fill valve, and I've hit a bit of a problem, and wanted some thoughts from the experts here as to how to proceed.

I've replaced the old valve assembly with a Fluidmaster 747UK side entry fill valve. The old valve assembly had smaller diameter pipe, but the 0.5 inch connector in my new one would fit perfectly into the existing tap connector if it was only an inch longer. The installing plumber had used some kind of reducing compression fit connector to get the extra length. Does a connector exist that I could use? A female tap 0.5" connector one on end, and a 0.5" male tap connector on the other end. There's quite a lot of play in the intake pipe (alas there's a inset so it would have to go round a corner into an inset bit of the cistern) so a bit of flexible pipe would probably work if it was flexible enough to bend completely around. Or is there a combination of 2-3 other parts that will do the right thing?

If the cognoscenti can confirm this part doesn't exist, there's a plan B: After the isolation valve there is a bit of a straight run of (I guess 15mm) copper pipe, a solder ring corner piece before the tap connector. I could cut the straight bit of pipe and put something like a 5mm x 0.5" flexible tap connector (Apologies: I'd link to screwfix or wickes here, but my new thread is rejected if I put links in this post) in there. That seems within my meagre abilities. Am I on the right track?

You can use a 1/2 bsp female to 15 mm compression fitting and don't use the nut and olive.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    8.6 KB · Views: 36