Search the forum,

Discuss Complete newbie, valves. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all, completely new here and to plumbing. I moved out had a washing machine delivery today including installation, but the guy said that the valve under my sink was missing a handle and that I should get it replaced before getting the washing machine installed. He also mentioned that i needed to call a plumber rather than do it myself.

So I researched valves on google and youtube and they seemed fairly easy to replace. However I have a few questions after taking a look at mine. Please have a look at the pictures.

Of the 3 valves it is the one on the very right that the guy said that the handle was missing.

My questions are:

1) Is this a compression valve? Or is it soldered? How do I tell? Its got a big bolt around it so im guessing its compression.
2) Why is there no pipe protruding from the top of it? I dont understand the water seems to flow to this valve and then no where.... Does it flow into the white box thing maybe on the right of it? Its a bit tight there so I cant see.
3) So i can see that the nob is missing, can I just go B&Q and buy one and replace this one? Are they all the same size?
4)What do these 3 pipes relate to? Sink, washing machine and...?
5)Or is this something I need to call a plumber for?

Thanks!
Ron

DSC_0646.JPG

DSC_0647.JPG

DSC_0643.JPG

DSC_0644.JPG

DSC_0645.JPG

It's a compression washing machine valve

Do you have any tools?
You say it seems easy to change but the questions you ask make me think it's something you are going to struggle with

Last edited:
It's a compression washing machine valve

Do you have any tools?
You say it seems easy to change but the questions you ask make me think it's something you are going to struggle with

Thanks. Yep i have literally never touched a pipe nor looked under a sink lol.