Search the forum,

Discuss Combi sudden pressure loss. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, my 80 year old mum has a combi boiler that suddenly loses pressure. She lives 70 miles away and having problem diagnosing fault. It happens irregularly and suddenly so dont think it is leak. Expansion tank and prv has been changed by a local plumber. I think it might be dumping water out the prv, but never when i am there and have left tub under prv but it rained, tied freezer bag to prv, it split (could have filled and split).
Any ideas, I am thinking intermitant pump fault or thermostat causing system to overheat and dump pressure?
Any ideas welcome, this only happens about once or twice a week.
I am a qualified gas engineer but I mainly do site work so not experienced in fault finding.
Thanks.

When the expansion vessel was replaced was the pipe connecting it checked? I've had instances where the connection at the boiler end has been blocked. Might be worth a look.

When the expansion vessel was replaced was the pipe connecting it checked? I've had instances where the connection at the boiler end has been blocked. Might be worth a look.
I have removed this and blown through it etc, but thanks for your idea. I did wonder if dirt in system could be intermitantly causing such blocking.

It would certainly help, Rich, if someone could monitor what the pressure is doing as the boiler heats up - that would be a good indication.

But I understand your mum would find this difficult.

What make and model of combi is it? (Not that I'm thinking that'll help...!)

Really needs a gas safe engineer to take a look guys not something for the DIYer to be guessing at

Rich , if you are GS , email admin with your number .
Otherwise its against the rules to encourage somebody to remove a boiler case

Apparently have to post 10 times, I'm gas safe messaged Lou and Dan with GS number and card serial number, no response.