Search the forum,

Discuss cast iron joining in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

conor

hi everyone.im starting a new job where i might have to maintain old cast iron pipework.but because im a fairly young plumber ive never worked with cast iron. ive been doun some research and can only really get info from america.so i dont know if it applies here. they say that oakum fibre is packed into the joint and then molten lead poured over.when the lead is nearly solidified its "worked" into the joint as it shrinks a little when solidifying.was/is oakum used here.or is oakum the same as flax/hemp.any advice or tips would be helpful thanks a million lads

Dont know anything about it myself but you could ask down at your local plumbers merchants what they use or i think there is a website called heritage house they maintain old houses look them up.

There are a few ways to join cast iron pipework. The traditional way is to use a caulking tool to insert twisted rope yarn into the socket (faucet) and then pour melted lead into it until flush with the top. This is considered quite dangerous these days and with the lead not environmentally friendly. Molten lead is dangerous and can explode if water enters the pot. The second method is to use a cold caulking compound known as PC4AF which is twisted and caulked into the joint like rope yarn, but it is kept wet. It sets like cement and is very strong, but wear a mask due to the dust from the tin! The third method and what I consider the best is to use a Timesaver coupling. This is a rubber gasket that is secured and tightened to make the joint with a cast iron coupling and M10 bolt using a socket spanner. Very strong and watertight and is easier than the other two methods on horizontal pipe runs. If you want full instructions on these methods, PM me.

google search timesaver,you can download their catalogue in PDF for more info.

Hi Connor