Search the forum,

Discuss Careere Change - Advice Needed in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

go2green

Hi All,

I currently work in the IT industry and have had enough! Oh... BTW... IT is not as well paid as you may think!

Over the years I have thought about retraining as a plumber. Whenever I am working on the house, it's the plumbing that I really enjoy.

I have refitted two kitchens and a bathroom, another to do soon, in my own houses and moved, added and replaced god knows how many radiators. I virtually re-plumbed my old house.

All of my friends and family ask my advice regarding plumbing and often do unpaid work for them.

Anyway, I have recently been looking into training courses and have found one that I am quite interested in provided by New Career Skills (NCS); Domestic Green Engineer.

It's a blended course consisting of both home study and practical experience in their workshops and should take around 14 - 18 months. The good thing is I can do this whilst still working.

I have been looking at some of the threads regarding qualifications and am a little concerned that I could be shelling out £8k and not be qualified to either get a job with a reputable plumbing firm or start out on my own.

Basically, on completion of the course I will have the following qualifications:

BPEC Water Supply Regulations Qualification
City & Guilds 6128 Level 2 Heating and Venting Tech certificate
BPEC Un-vented Hot Water Systems Qualification
BPEC Electrical Defined Scope Part 'P' Qualification
BPEC Certificate in Renewable Energy Awareness
BPEC Solar Heating and Solar Thermal Installation Qualification
BPEC Building Regulations Part 'L' Qualification
BPEC Air Source and Ground Source Pump Installation Qualification
Rainwater and Greywater Harvesting Installation Qualification